What am I doing wrong

dave007

HI to you all

Finally took the boat out from Baiter the other day when the yellow thing was out, lovely day, tide rising.

I only seem to be able to catch macs.

I was fishing with my son around Poole rocks and was able to catch about 25 macs using feathers, changed over to a pennal rig with rag and squid but no joy also tried strips of of the mac (the only one we kept) but still no joy and also just a single hook with enough weight to hold bottom .

fish finder was definitely show fish in the water at various levels.

if any one can help I would be most grateful as not only do want to catch something different, I also want to keep my son interest. as he gets fed up only catching macs and wants more sport and I need to keep him to crew!

cheers

Dave

Hi Dave

As a beginner I have been feeling a lot of the same frustrations. I have been targetting Bream and I have had lots of mostly convincing advice from club members that has led me to use small hooks on long virtually invisible lines attached to weighted booms. It works sometimes but more often I get a load of pollocks, a wrasse or dogfish. Yet it seems like some (maybe everyone except us) in the club go out and catch just the fish they target each time...unless they only tell us what they were fishing for afterwards....no I don't really believe that...I have looked closely into peoples eyes when they tell me how they have been doing! There must be something we are doing wrong - something that we have missed...

Maybe it is the marks - thanks to the club I have a good long list of these now but it doesn't tell me anything much about what I should find in each one. For example, Poole patch the other day didn't seem to have any bream.

john

Where do I start?

There are millions reasons for not catching fish, an easterly wind, months with 'r'......

However a few main reasons are usual why.

1) there's no fish where you were.

2)fish just not feeding.