17ft Wilson flyer problems!

Ashhodges

Hi I'm new to the forum, I have a 17ft flyer with a 40hp mariner and have a problem with it, since I have owned it it has always been slow and uses a lot of fuel at first we thought it may have been a engine problem but It seems to be running absolutely fine. I then noticed that there's a crack in the cover of the inspection hatch at the rear of the floor I took the cover off and it was full of water it also looks to be foam filled, could this be my problem? I have sucked the water out with a wet vac and it keeps refilling but I kept doing it until no more water came out. I am new to working on boats and do not no a lot so any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks Ash.

I would say that you've found the reason it's slow. The boat would be very heavy with a lot of water under the floor.

I think your only solution will be to cut out the floor so you can remove the foam and find out where the water is getting in. Then bond the floor back in. You cold either fill the space with plastic balls as used in a children's play area or do as I did with the Pilot International 520 that I had and leave the area empty.

40hp sounds a bit small for that boat, my Pilot International 520 (very similar boat) was fitted with a 50hp and it struggled to get on the plane at times. Although that could be down to the fact it was quite an old engine, so was probably well down on power.

Hope this helps and hasn't disheartened you.

Hi, thanks for your help I thought this might be the case I was going to strip the boat over the winter for painting etc anyway so I'll just have todo this at the same time. And yes I thought the 40hp is abit small really and hopefully will change to something bigger when it's all sorted.

Hi

I used to own a Wilson Flyer 17

Mine was a bit heavier built than the usual layup

I originally fitted it with an old 45HP and it was a lemon, engine change to a new 60HP 2 stroke and it was a different boat, back to a flyer.