Aux Outboard

Newboy

I'm a novice at boat fishing, I'm working my way thru the 18' Shetland I'd bought over the winter. I've fitted a new deck, replaced the cushions and rewired the lights as well as power points. The boat came with honda 10 hp outboard, but I've decided a bigger engine is required for seafaring (it was used in the river only), so a 30hp Johnson was bought.

Now, should I keep the honda and use it as an aux engine?

The upside is that I know the honda is a good engine, just serviced and the chap said it's in pristine condition. The downside is that (to my discovery) both engines weigh a considerate amount if both are fitted. With the trailer parked on a slight slope, the combined weight of the engines, and me trying to jump up, it lifted the jocket wheel of the ground.

Or should I get a smaller ob like a seagull which can be stored inside the boat untill needed? Plus it weigh a lot less.

Also, how small is small (minimum) to push a 18' boat in an emergency?

Thanks in advance.

P.S Anyone know what this boat is, I know it's a shetland but not sure of model.

post-6-1080736447.jpg

Hi Newboy, Welcome to the site.

Very good question - which raises several points.

This is the way I would see the situation. You have an 18' boat , a Shetland (fairly heavy design) so a small aux. say a 4hp, wont really be of much help - even on a 16' dingey they are only good for emergancies, and for aux. propulsion you wont get abpve 2/3 knots max, in slack tide. So to give any really assistance - youll probably need about 10hp - ideal as this is what you have.

You mention a seagul. Great aux. engines, although any outboard doesnt like being laid down, and stored flat - so I would advise against this.

The 10hp you already have is in great condition and as you know it, should be realiable (this counts for alot with engines)