Wrasse and Bream advice

billy2shots

Heading out Saturday with the intention of plenty of fish to keep my young children happy. Looking at last weeks Spring Species Comp there are a few Wrasse and Bream around.

I'm still new to boating and sea fishing and up to now I've stuck to sandy bottoms and the relative safety that provides. With that comes the same species of each trip and I really fancy a change.

This is where things get rocky! I'm looking at target a few new species this weekend and the kids really fancy the look of wrasse and Bream. As such that dictates a location change.

This is where things get a little tricky and I guess I'm seeking advice and a confidence boost.

I'm thinking Poole Patch or Ballard to produce a variety of fish. Coming out from Poole harbour I usually stick to the end of the Swash, saddler and Dolphin Sands. Ballard would see me venture the furthest south I've been. I gather there can be a bit of a rip just off old Harry but in a 8m merry fisher with Saturdays conditions I should be fine, shouldn't I?

Obviously the Patch is much closer but the lobster pots and nets annoy me a fair bit. Am I right in thinking anchoring is trickier at the Patch as apposed to Ballard and the risk of anchor loss is greater?

The other big question is anchor or drift? Again I'm favouring Ballard because of the sea furniture resident on the Patch.

In short. Help!

Also, drift fishing with young kids is difficult. Especially over anything but sandy substrate.

If your anchor is set to trip with cable ties you should be fine if it slips into the rocks or under a pot rope.

The rip off of old Harry is dependent on conditions. With wind over tide, size of tide etc.

But as skipper it is your call. Many have been through it when sloppy, many go round it. The choice is yours. Nothing more exciting than green water on the windows, if you have any that is!!

Rob