EGNOS - Can you use it yet

Coddy

Hi all

I checked out my chartplotter the other day to see if it would work on EGNOS and it located a number os satalites.

I found a web page saying that they were testing the system and should be switching it on in April 2004.

I am no electronics expert by any means but it seems they have been using a different mode for testing.

Does anyone understand this system and can advise accordingly.

Web page I found was http://www.pocketgps.co.uk/egnos.php

Regards

Codfather huh.gif

Cod, I don't think they are using a different mode during the testing. Usually, a test signal will use the same mode as the operational signal, but the test signal cannot be relied on for accuracy or consistancy because they will be experimenting with different range and accuracy methods, and checking the error messages, etc. So, the test signal should not be used for applications where safety is paramount (e.g. a fighter pilot flying on autopilot at high speed and low altitude!!!)

If the test signal is in operation I believe you should be able to pick it up, but it might not be there all the time.

The difference between EGNOS and the old GPS system is in the accuracy (20m vs 5m) and with the messages you will be told the accuracy you are currently getting.

The old GPS system uses the US (and Russian) military satellite system. These are self-contained satellites which transmit their signal to earth. EGNOS will still use the information from these satellites but it will use a series for ground stations which interogate these satellites to determine exactly where they are in the sky and then compute the errors due to atmosphere effects, etc.

The corrected signal (with error information) is then transmitted from the base stations up to 3 EGNOS satellites which bounce them back to earth.