AXIOM +RV

Breakin’ Bass

Hi all, I’m currently looking at upgrading my GPS/Fishfinder (Raymarine circa 2004 C80 etc) for a Raymarine Axiom 9+RV set up. Does anyone have experience with this unit and more importantly would you recommend it?

I’m not sure if I would actually require the full 3D/RV experience or just downscan and CHIRP would suffice?

I’d further point out that as I only bought my 1st boat during lockdown I have no real idea of what is, or is not considered to be a good fish finder. Therefore any advice/recommendations would be most welcome.

Many thanks in advance 

Pete ( Breakin’ Bass)

Hi Pete,

Welcome to the wonderful world of boat ownership 👍

As for your question, I have no direct experience of the Raymarine kit, but I can suggest that for the vast majority of anglers, we do just fine with Chirp, Down and Sidescan views. It's easy to spend a lot of money quickly, chasing the next best thing in sonar imaging but I recommend you go for regular chirp/down/sidescan and learn to use it effectively. You'll find that it's perfect for 99% of our fishing here in the UK.

Thanks Andy, your advice is very much appreciated. Especially as the cost of stepping  up from Chirp type transducers to ones that provide the RealVision 3D is eye watering.  To be honest even if I could see the fish in 3D I’m still not sure that I could catch them 😂

Hi all, I’m currently looking at upgrading my GPS/Fishfinder (Raymarine circa 2004 C80 etc) for a Raymarine Axiom 9+RV set up. Does anyone have experience with this unit and more importantly would you recommend it?

I’m not sure if I would actually require the full 3D/RV experience or just downscan and CHIRP would suffice?

I’d further point out that as I only bought my 1st boat during lockdown I have no real idea of what is, or is not considered to be a good fish finder. Therefore any advice/recommendations would be most welcome.

Many thanks in advance 

Pete ( Breakin’ Bass)

Hi Pete