Hello z1plex

Maverick Martin

• 1 month later...

Hello all, i'm new to small boat angling...have been shore fishing for 20 years, mainly in the Bristol Channel but recently decided to take the plunge and get a small fishing boat, (Marina 14'6", Yamaha 25hp, all the usual kit etc.), i've been out from Weymouth and 3 times from West Bay...caught plenty of mackeral, dogfish, scad and gurnard but looking for advice on where to fish. I will be going to fish off Portland with a mate soon but would like some information on Poole and the surrounding areas. Also I can't seem to find any information on my boat re: max engine size etc. , so if anyone has any ideas please let me know. Sorry to be a bit vague but this is all new to me so bear with me! By the way, my name is Duncan and I live in the south of Bristol, and No i don't fancy venturing into the Channel just yet blink.gif

Hi Duncan, and welcome to the site! - I think you are our 60th registered user! biggrin.gif

As for advice, you wil soon pick up these things by reading and contributing to the threads. Trying to answer all your questions in one go would take forever!

Pick a topic at a time, then post it in the appropreate forum, we have never been so busy, so the problem will not be getting advice, but sorting through the mountains of opinions you are given.

We have a fantastic cross section of members both in the club and on the forum, so we should be able to answer most things!

Good to have you aboard!

Adam

Thanks for the warm welcome everyone. Yep, I intend to visit and have a look see every time I get chance so i'm sure i'll slowly get to grips with things. Seems the weather's a bit dodgy the weekend, atleast for the marks i've fished up till now, so if any of you guys are venturing out have fun and enjoy !

Cheers all

Duncan.

Hi ziplex, yep thats mine alright.