Gelcoat repairs - what, again!??

Bob F

I've been finishing off a few dinks and bumps in the gelcoat and in some places after sanding down with wet'n'dry there are some dark patches appearing in the white gelcoat.

Is this where I have been over enthusiastic with the sanding and have got down to the fibreglass and started to polish it??

How do I get rid of these patches???

Spray over with white paint??

Drill into it and fill in with more gelcoat?

Or just put another layer of gelcoat over the top?

cheers

BF

Bob,

Im no expert and im learning the hard way.

Sounds like you rubbed off too much, you could try thinning the gel coat and rolling it on then sand with very fine wet and dry

Dont put paint on your lovely gelcaot unless you don't have a choice

Paul J

Bob

I suppose the patches are above the water line - i.e. the nice and easily accessible bits where you can really get going with some pressure!!!

I wouldnt hesitate to paint perfection 709, sprayed on, or with a roller - can produce a finish like glass, and can also change the colour of your beloved from off white to shiny blue. Also, its alot easier to clean, and burnish. Its also one of the few ways to prevent osmosis, I believe. Ive used it on fibreglass racing dinghys and epoxy wood, and always managed a good extremely high gloss finish. Worth a thought.....

Paul

I have just put perfection on the hull, in fact it's still wet cause it went on about 5:30pm.

So far it's has a primer of gelsheild 2000, one coat of perfection undercoat and 1 of two coats of perfection 709 in cream.

2nd coat tomorrow depending how well it's dried.

Im hoping it'll be ready to flip back over late Saturday afternoon, soon im off to post an invite to the Boat Flip ( the sequel)

Cheers

Paul J

post-6-1112736997.jpg

• 3 weeks later...

Quote........

Is this where I have been over enthusiastic with the sanding and have got down to the fibreglass and started to polish it??

How do I get rid of these patches