Angling Trust "Legal Issues"

Mike Fox

All,

I found David Mitchell's talk to be fascinating at our club meeting on Thursday 2nd February 2012, and I did talk to him afterwards about some of the points raised.

It's a complex topic, and I am starting to see why the Angling Trust is spread thinly, particularly relating to restoration of fish stocks available to recreational sea anglers.

In summary, my understanding of the 4 main issues presented were:

- Multiple "battlegrounds" on which to fight;

- Multiple stakeholders to involve and influence;

- Complex legal framework at local, national and international levels;

- Lack of funding to help make major achievements.

I'm not a lawyer, and without help I would be unwilling to refer to published links and articles that are unlikely to be read, but there are ever-widening levels of legislation from local to international:

- Southern IFCA - Bylaws http://www.southern-ifca.gov.uk/byelaws

- UK legislation:

Wildlife & Countryside Act see also here: http://www.seafish.org/media/Publications/...ife_Species.pdf

- EU legislation (common fisheries policy)

- International Regulations for the Avoidance of Collision at Sea (ColRegs)

For this post, I would ask the club membership:

- To help make the legislation simple and help clarify WHAT is illegal today (which ones have I got wrong or missed?).

- To suggest what we as club members could do to stamp out illegal practices.

I might insert a few more, as suggestions come in!

ILLEGAL FISHING ACTIVITIES (in alphabetical order)

Bass conservation area rule breaches

Black fish landings (illegal landings by registered or unregistered vessels)

Fixed nets in Poole Harbour (other than Fyke nets) banned from Apr-Sept inclusive (Southern IFCA by-law 17.1(a))

Foreign flagged vessels fishing within 6 miles?

Foul-hooking fish deliberately (Southern IFCA by-law No. 23)