JIGGING

transportline205

Just wondered if anyone can recomend a good rod for working a lure whilst wreck fishing

At the moment i have an 8ft6" Shimano Speedmaster supplied by Weymouth Angling complete with the tekota 500Lc multiplier which is great

I like using the longer rod and it has a great foregrip and nice long butt, however i have found it to be a tiny bit soft on the tip and missed a few good takes i believe because i'm not setting the hook properly

I checked the sharpness of my hook and it was fine. The test curve of my shimano is 12/20lbs would there be a benifit from going 30lb class any advice always appreciated cheers Rob.

Unless you go for the Shimano Antares, you'll find all Shimano boat rods with a soft through action.

I agree a longer rod is an advantage for working lures. You really want a medium - fast action.

Take a look at: Diawa Kenzaki or the Abu Conolon / Suveran. There are plenty of others but these will give you a feel for what I recommend. It also depends on your budget.

Adam

I know exactly what you mean.I love my 20/40 MTI but if I get a hit from a decent cod I struggle with the first part of the fight in 200ft of water.As with setting the hook I have found that is usually down to the speed of the retrieve.Every day is different and a lot of feel is sometimes required but normally I have found that speeding up the retrieve after the pluck normally induces a positive hit.

The rod I find a bit better at this is my Diawa TDX 12/30lb class or Alba 12lb class.

Everybody has their favourite rods , methods ,reels and if you would like to try any of mine you're more than welcome before you splash the cash

Nige

P.S I think you're reel is only 4.2 :1 ratio I prefer 5.2:1

Edited by niggle

Thanks Adam i already have a 12/20 kenzaki but there is not a lot of difference slightly stiffer on the tip but not much, however i will check out the others you mention and i assume 30lbs tc is not ideal?