Fishing Tips, Rigs, Marks, Baits - etc

Camira

Hi Guys,

New member here who has recently 'somehow' managed to convince the wife that a new boat is the best way to spend some recenlty acquired funds. Very much looking forward to attending the new club meeting.

My real problem is, I now have the boat (Quicksilver 580) the rods, tackle and bits but to be honest am a complete novice at how best to put this all togerther and catch some fish to prove to the wife that the investment was indeed worth it. (although I now doubt that will ever happen).

Can any member help in suggesting a good book, reference guide that basically cover's all aspects of sea/boat fishing particulary in the English Channel (No point in learning how to catch in the Med - boat won't go that far). I do appreciate that fishing Marks are often a fishermans best kept secret, but I'm really looking for a more general explanation of what rigs, baits techniques to use for certain fish, time of dat, tide etc.

Any suggestions would be most appreciated.

Tony (Camira)

Pic of new boat attached (I hope)

post-6-1106674578.jpg

Hi Tony

For rigs and tackle talk "The Sea Anglers Guide to Bait and Rigs" by Mel Russ is a good book with straight forward explanations and pics. On the video front you could try "The Complete Guide To Offshore Boat Fishing With Bob Cox"

Over time you will glean loads of information from members including marks and technique tips. We could post lots of options here but you would be better either posting specific questions or asking at a club meeting.

If you do decide to buy books or videos please use the link to Amazon at the top of the page. The club benefits from a small commision on all sales through that link

Martin

Hi Tony,

Lovely new boat! - Cunning plan roping the wife in!...