Solar panel-battery saver

Newboy

Just gone and tried to start my outboard and the batteries are as flat as a glass of week old cola weep.gif .

I bought a solar panel before I went on holiday and thought that would top up the batteries while I was away (well, obviously not mad.gif ).

So where did I go wrong? I left the battery switch on 'all' and with the panel plug into the cigarette lighter plug. The red led 'flashes' and I presumed it's working. I must admit the panel doesn't see any direct sunlight, but then it should still have worked.

I am not an electrical expert so others may come up with more esoteric answers but............

You may have a small leak to earth which has drained the battery. If leaving the boat for some time I would disconect the battery entierly from the boats system.

Also I do think that the more SUN light the better the panel will perform. Indirect light may not create enough power to break the battery's natural resistance to current flow.

Mad Mike

Ps What about a mains powered trickle charger on an extension lead?

Ken,

I assume you were only on holiday for a couple of weeks or so. In which case, your batteries should not have gone flat, even without the solar panel running.

As Mike says, you may have a small leak to earth, but most probably you will find that something was accidently turned on.

Having said that, the solar panel will need to get direct sunlight to work efficiently. You never know, it might have been the flashing red led that ran down your batteries. tongue.giftongue.gif

BF

It was 4 weeks since I last started the outboard. All the electrics work, but just haven't got enough juice to turn the starter motor on the outboard. I think I'll just use my battery mate to charge the batteries once every other weeks just to be sure.