My Saturday

lofty

Got down to Branksome beach at 6.20. Watched the sun up over IOW and put out.

The sea was horrible yesterday with big breakers to get through.Went out about 500 yards and paddled against a gentle tide and breeze to just passed the studland dene. The swell was disgusting in my little tek,maybe 3 to 5 feet. Tried spinning on the way down and caught some mackeral wth a dexter.Then for an hour tried to fish squid for something but gave up on that.Then spent an hour with feathers and caught lots of mackeral between branksome and the next chine,opposite the pink house on the cliff was best,oh and a 8 inch gurnard which went back with the smaller macks. By this time the swell made me feel a bit yeewy so called it a lumpy day and took my dinner home.

Hope this is useful,as im a newbie to this site.

Toodle pip

Lofty sick.gif

ps. the macks only took the bottom white feather with blue band?????????????

post-165-1283680355jpg

Nice one Lofty ..... Always good to hear about others experiences....You are a brave man to try it in the conditions...well done mate........don't be too brave though ....Safety in numbers and there are loads of Yaks in the club that are willing to buddie up. Even if you stay close in it would be good to have someone on the shore watching out for you !!

Stay safe and enjoy

thanks for the report

Dave biggrin.gifbiggrin.gifbiggrin.gif

Toying wiyh going out early on Saturday but the tide is flooding pretty big so not sure where to go or what to try for?.I like to go at 6ish as I can get back by 11 .Thinking about launching at baiter and staying in the harbour. Any ideas?What would you try?

Toying wiyh going out early on Saturday but the tide is flooding pretty big so not sure where to go or what to try for?.I like to go at 6ish as I can get back by 11 .Thinking about launching at baiter and staying in the harbour. Any ideas?What would you try?