First time channel crossing from Jersey to Poole

Andy135

I'm viewing a boat for sale in Jersey on Monday. There is the possibility that if all goes well I may be in a position to simply drive her back. My outline passage plan would be Jersey to Poole, refuel then follow the coast back to Portsmouth.

But I've never done a channel crossing before. I would be flying solo, and in a new-to-me boat that I won't have done much water time on. Clearly this is not an ideal situation to be in. What advice and guidance can PBSBAC members offer as to what I should be aware of on the crossing; freighters (obviously!), tides, changing weather conditions etc. If I do it, I will have my PLB with me.

I've done over 40 channel crossings, and there's a number of things that might prove to be a "stopper"...

• Jersey might still be in Covid-19 lockdown, and mandatory 14-day quarantine when you get there;
  • Are you convinced the boat is offshore capable by design (RCD Category B, for example);
  • Will your insurance cover you for the trip?
  • Will you have undertaken sufficient sea trials to have assured yourself all equipment works reliably?
  • Do you have sufficient spares, experience and safety gear for the entire trip, given that in the middle you'll be 30 miles from land;
  • Who do you really expect to rescue you if things go wrong, and you're out of VHF and mobile phone range? Remember that the French will charge you to be rescued, if you're in their "half" of the Channel, and you get rescued via your PLB alert.
  • Tides: You really want to hit the Alderney Race on slack, or the very start of the flood tide. Ideally on a neaps. It can be evil else;
  • Weather: You need a calm spell. Many club boats have been across, a F4 in the wrong direction can take you off planing speeds, and trip duration and fuel consumption will suffer.